All posts in Uncategorized

Junior Development Day

Many thanks to all the parents and kids that supported our Manly Touch School Holidays Development Day which was a huge success today. Special thanks to Luke Heckendorf, Quinn Witika & Pat Batiste from NSWTA for their excellent support!  Next year we will be holding a similar event on Thursday 14 April, 2016.  Photos from the day can all be found via the Manly Warringah Touch Facebook page and will be added here soon.


Youth Trans Tasman 2015

Australia has successfully retained the Youth Trans-Tasman trophy and in the process nine of our Sea Eagles players got the opportunity to represent their country and wear the green and gold on home soil.  A massive well done to Touch Football Australia on hosting such a professional and well run tournament. The facilities at Remondis Stadium were first-class and sensational weather made it truly unforgettable.  Laura Peattie received the honour of being the Australian Female Flag Bearer (Ron Hanson Award), as well as being the Australian 20’s Girls Captain and Players Player.  Yasmin Meakes was the Australian 20’s Girls Vice Captain and once again had an outstanding tournament, with herself and Sam Rodgers both playing on the wing the entire tournament without an interchange.  In the 18’s Girls Shellie Davis was awarded the Captaincy – a just reward for her proven successful leadership over many years with Manly & Sydney Scorpions at numerous junior tournaments.  Hannah Dyball continued her amazing rise up the ranks being awarded the Roxy Winder Award. This is a very prestigious honour and award presented to a certain individual for overall outstanding achievement and contribution to the Touch Football National Youth Program.  The players now turn their focus onto Elite 8 as well as the Australian Women’s and Mixed Opens squad camps in preparation for the 2015 World Cup in April with teams named in the coming weeks.  Full Youth Trans-Tasman scores and video links can be found below with photos here now.

Continue Reading

Representative Season 2015

ScreenHunter_104 Dec. 13 12.52

With the regular season now complete, attention turns to the representative calendar with the Youth Trans-Tasman, Elite 8 Championships and Touch World Cup all coming up within the next few months.  The Youth Trans-Tasman takes place in Cronulla during January 2015 with our Australian representatives listed below.  This is followed by the Elite 8 Championships which are to be held in Coffs Harbour during March 2015.  The Sea Eagles once again have a large presence in the NSW Scorpions and are the undefeated reigning champions.  However following the success of the NSW Scorpions and the Manly Women’s programme the talent is now spread amongst a number of the Elite 8 permits.  Congratulations to all players on their selection in the following teams and good luck to players pending selections in the Australian Mixed & Women’s Opens & New Zealand Women’s Opens teams for the 2015 Touch World Cup.

Australian 18 Girls: Shellie Davis, Tayla Clifford, Steph Maiolo, Zara Nicholas. Assistant Coach: Anthony Dudeck
Australian 20 Girls:
Sam Rodgers, Danni Davis, Laura Peattie, Yasmin Meakes, Hannah Dyball. Assistant Coach: Barry Gibson

NSW Scorpions: Danni Davis, Elesha Dougal, Hannah Dyball, Jenna Hitch, Laura Peatte, Nicky Albery, Sarah Peattie, Steph Maiolo, Yasmin Meakes, Zara Nicholas.  Coach: Barry Gibson
NSW Rebels: Sam Rodgers
NSW Mets: Shellie Davis, Tayla Clifford
NSW Country Mavericks: Chloe Cheney
Alliance: Bec Beath

State Cup 2014 Premier League Review

State Cup 2014 got underway with the Sea Eagles in Pool B up against the Berkeley Vale Panthers, Parramatta Eels and Dubbo Devils. The top two teams from the pool would be promoted to the Championship series which would take place commencing on the Saturday. Game one was against the Berkeley Vale Panthers – a team that did very well in their first season in Premier League at Vawdon Cup. The Sea Eagles got their campaign off to a great start with a solid 10-0 win. Berkeley Vale were missing a number of their stronger players, however Manly did the job with two double touchdowns to Sam Rodgers and Hannah Dyball. Game two was up against the Parramatta Eels on the Stadium – a match that the Sea Eagles always look forward to against their Scorpions counterparts. Once again Manly put in a strong performance with Yasmin Meakes getting a hat-trick of touchdowns to help secure a 9-0 win.   The final game of the day was a scrappy 7-1 victory over the Dubbo Devils, with the main objective being getting through the game without injuries and trying to conserve some energy in the Port Macquarie heat. Three wins on day one meant that the Sea Eagles moved onto the Championship series with Sarah Peattie and Elesha Dougal both putting in pleasing performances for the team.

Continue Reading

State Cup 2014 Women’s 20’s Champions

Another season has come and gone and many congratulations to our Manly Women’s 20’s who have won back to back State Cup titles after defeating the highly fancied Murwillumbah Mavericks by 4-3.  The Sea Eagles raced to a 3-0 lead and managed to hold off a fast finishing Mavericks to give Coaches Jamie Clifford & Keith Smith their second State Cup title in successive years.  For the Sea Eagles there were many stand out performances through-out the tournament including Players Player award winners Kasey Dragisic & Laura Coleman and Brittney Clifford who was named Player of the Final.  Emma Williams and Abbey Steanes were also amongst the best.

State Cup 2014 Women’s 20’s: Aaliyah Paki, Abbey Steanes, Britt Clifford, Chloe Scranage, Emma Crerar, Emma Williams, Jess Fowler, Jorja McDonald, Kasey Dragisic, Kristie Leonard, Laura Coleman, Maddison Hartman, Sinead McNamara, Tully Marr. Shadow: Paige French

2014 State & Vawdon Cup Awards
State Cup Women’s Premier League Players Player: Jenna Hitch
State Cup Women’s Premier League Coaches Awards: Jenna Hitch & Jenna Hitch
State Cup Women’s 20’s Players Player: Kasey Dragisic & Laura Coleman
State Cup Women’s 20’s Coaches Awards: Abbey Steanes & Emma Williams
State Cup Women’s 20’s NSWTA Player of The Final: Brittney Clifford
Vawdon Cup Women’s Premier League Player of the Season: Laura Peattie
Vawdon Cup Women’s Smith Medal Winner: Laura Peattie
Vawdon Cup Women’s Division 1 Player of the Season: Rachael Cleave
Vawdon Cup Women’s Division 2 Player of the Season: Gloria Berryman
Women’s Premier League & 20’s Rising Star Award: Yasmin Meakes
Barry Gibson Perpetual Trophy: Laura Peattie
Club Person of the Year – Anthony Dudeck Perpetual Trophy: Keith Smith


Vawdon Cup 2014 Results

The Vawdon Cup 2014 season has now finished with the Manly Sea Eagles Premier League finishing runners-up for the second successive year.  The Bulldogs won the title after defeating the Sea Eagles by 3-2.  It was a frustrating result for Manly after going through the season undefeated and only falling at the final hurdle.  In Division One the Wallsend Wolves got the win over the Sea Eagles by 5-3.  Manly did have reason to celebrate in the Division 2 competition with the ladies winning in a tense drop-off by 4-3 against Campbelltown.  Attention now turns to State Cup at Port Macquarie which takes place on 5-7 December.

Continue Reading

Elite 8 Champions 2014

The 2014 Elite 8 & National Touch League has taken place in Coffs Harbour with the NSW Scorpions Women’s taking out the prestigious Elite 8 title going 9 games undefeated. The team boasted 11 Manly Sea Eagles players, with coaches Barry Gibson and Anthony Dudeck also at the helm.   In the Women’s T-League NTL division coaches Jamie Clifford and Keith Smith saw the team make it to the semi final only to go down 2-1.  The Elite 8 Final has been described as the best game of the tournament with NSW Scorpions ending NSW Mets domination in the Women’s division by claiming the Elite Eight title in a thriller.   Continue Reading